CD Clan Of Xymox "Kindred Spirits"

Clan Of Xymox

CD
Kindred Spirits

EUR 15,99

incl. 19 % VAT excl. shipping costs


weight 0,10 KG

in stock

released 05.10.2012


Clan Of Xymox

CD
Kindred Spirits


EAN 4260063944611

Product.Nr. TRI_461_CD


0.0 of 5 stars


product description

CD Clan Of Xymox "Kindred Spirits"

The darkest hour is over. Leipzig-based Goth pioneer Ronny Moorings has lead Clan Of Xymox through the valley of tears and braced himself for new deeds after his last, downright elegiac and hopeless Dark Wave manifesto "Darkest Hour". It still is not exactly a lot of light looming at the distant end of the tunnel but it is proof enough after this bleak album that every night, however dark it may be, is eventually followed by a new dawn.
This dawn has now arrived and drags along "Kindred Spirits", an exceptional new work from the realms of the Dutch scene founder and passionate artist. True to its title, Moorings did not exorcize a new Clan Of Xymox studio album, but assembled an intimate, strongly biographic collection of cover songs that has been compiled, recorded and visualized as passionate as was formerly only done with the legendary mixtapes of old. After a trip into the own musical past on "Darkest Hour", now is the time for a travel back to the artists' musical idols, influences and soul mates and there is a lot to discover on the way!

"Kindred Spirits" assembles eleven cover versions, entirely played, sung and recorded by Ronny Moorings. And what a selection it is: "Blue Monday" by NEW ORDER, "Question Of Time" by DEPECHE MODE, "Decades" by JOY DIVISION, "A Forest" by THE CURE or "Alice" by THE SISTERS OF MERCY may be songs one would have expected on Ronny Mooring's perennial playlist anyway; the manner in which he reawakens these tracks to a new Clan Of Xymox life, however, astounds and enthuses more than was deemed possible. Warm, organic, somewhere between wavy Electro and fog-clouded Goth Rock. These honorary tributes show a completely new side of Clan Of Xymox and revive immortal classics as a pleasant side effect. More surprising is a song like RADIOHEAD's "Creep" that even after the first listen sounds like a well-known Clan Of Xymox track and was most skillfully interpreted. Pieces from DAVID BOWIE ("Heroes", of course), SHOCKING BLUE, TEST DEPARTMENT, NINE INCH NAILS as well as SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES (sung by Mojca Zunga) complete an extraordinary release brimful with emotion and nostalgia.

Not only the song selection proves that "Kindred Spirits" is far from a profane cover album also the almost sacred character with which Ronny Moorings worked on this record stands for its special worth. The songs chosen are of great value to him, influenced him and doubtlessly helped him through the one or the other dark hour in the same manner as the music of Clan Of Xymox did this for countless other people. "Kindred Spirits" is an album, as personal as an evening with Ronny Moorings and his record collection. A lesson in soulful music seen through the eyes of a hopeless music lover.

  tracklist/more details

0.00000 Review(s)

There are no reviews for this product

back Write a review

tracklist/more details

1. Venus
2. Alice
3. Is Vic There?
4. A Forest
5. Something I Can Never Have
6. Red Light
7. Decades
8. Heroes
9. A Question Of Time
10. Creep
11. Blue Monday
Back to Top

CD Clan Of Xymox "Kindred Spirits"

Clan Of Xymox

CD
Kindred Spirits

EUR 15,99

inkl. 19 % MwSt. zzgl. Versand


Gewicht 0,10 KG

Lieferzeit ca. 1 bis 3 Tage

VÖ 05.10.2012


Clan Of Xymox

CD
Kindred Spirits


EAN 4260063944611

Artikelnummer TRI_461_CD


0.0 von 5 Sternen


Beschreibung

CD Clan Of Xymox "Kindred Spirits"

Die dunkelste Stunde ist vorüber. Wahlleipziger und Goth-Pionier Ronny Moorings hat Clan Of Xymox durch das Tal der Tränen geführt und sich nach dem letzten, geradezu elegischen und hoffnungsfrei düsteren Dark Wave-Manifest "Darkest Hour" freigemacht für neue Taten. Es ist zwar noch immer nicht gerade viel Licht, was irgendwo in weiter Ferne am Ende dieses Tunnels warten könnte, doch es ist nach dem unheilvollen 13. Studioalbum der Beweis, dass auf jede noch so tiefe Nacht irgendwann der Morgen folgt.
Jetzt ist die Dämmerung da und hat mit "Kindred Spirits" ein außergewöhnliches neues Werk aus dem Reich des niederländischen Szene-Mitbegründers und Vollblutmusikers im Schlepptau. Getreu seinem Titel "verwandte Seelen" hat Moorings diesmal kein neues Clan Of Xymox-Studioalbum aus den Untiefen seiner Seele ans Licht gezerrt, sondern eine ganz persönliche, stark biografisch gefärbte Kollektion von Coverversionen auf einer Veröffentlichung versammelt, die ebenso liebevoll und leidenschaftlich zusammengestellt, aufgenommen und visuell umgesetzt wurde, wie man das nur von den guten alten Mixtapes kannte. Nach der Exkursion in die eigene musikalische Vergangenheit auf "Darkest Hour" folgt nun also eine Zeitreise zurück zu den musikalischen Vorbildern, Einflüssen und Seelenverwandten des Künstlers. Und da gibt es viel zu entdecken.

"Kindred Spirits" versammelt elf Coverversionen, allesamt im Alleingang eingespielt, eingesungen und aufgenommen von Ronny Moorings. Und was für eine Auswahl uns hier erwartet: "Blue Monday" von NEW ORDER, "Question Of Time" von DEPECHE MODE, "Decades" von JOY DIVISION, "A Forest" von THE CURE oder "Alice" von THE SISTERS OF MERCY mögen Stücke sein, die man in der ewigen Playlist eines Ronny Moorings vielleicht schon immer vermutet hätte; die Art und Weise, wie er diese Songs zu neuem Clan Of Xymox-Leben erweckt, erstaunt und begeistert dennoch mehr als man das jemals erwartet hätte. Warm, organisch, irgendwo zwischen waviger Elektronik und nebelumwalltem Goth Rock geben sich diese Respektbekundungen, zeigen eine gänzlich neue Seite von Clan Of Xymox und lassen ganz nebenbei unsterbliche Klassiker wieder aufleben. Überraschender ist da schon eine Nummer wie "Creep" von RADIOHEAD, die schon nach erstmaligem Hören wie ein altbekannter Clan Of Xymox-Song klingt und wahrlich meisterhaft interpretiert wurde. Stücke von DAVID BOWIE (natürlich "Heroes"), SHOCKING BLUE, TEST DEPARTMENT, NINE INCH NAILS sowie SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES (eingesungen von Mojca Zunga) beschließen ein außergewöhnliches Werk voller Emotionen und Nostalgie.

Dass "Kindred Spirits" kein herkömmliches Coveralbum ist, zeigt neben der Songauswahl auch der beinahe sakrale Charakter, mit dem Ronny Moorings an diesem Album gearbeitet hat. Es sind allesamt Songs, die ihm viel bedeuten, die ihn geprägt haben und ihm zweifellos über die eine oder andere besonders dunkle Stunde hinweggeholfen haben genau, wie es die Musik von Clan Of Xymox bereits für unzählige Menschen getan hat. "Kindred Spirits" ist ein Album, so persönlich wie ein gemeinsamer Abend mit Ronny Moorings und seiner Plattensammlung. Eine Lehrstunde in Sachen seelenvoller Musik gesehen durch die Augen eines hoffnungslosen Musikliebhabers.

  Tracklist/mehr Details

0.00000 Bewertung(en)

Zu diesem Artikel existieren noch keine Bewertungen

Zurück Bewertung schreiben

Tracklist/mehr Details

1. Venus
2. Alice
3. Is Vic There?
4. A Forest
5. Something I Can Never Have
6. Red Light
7. Decades
8. Heroes
9. A Question Of Time
10. Creep
11. Blue Monday
Back to Top