CD Rome "Nos Chants Perdus"

ROME

CD
Nos Chants Perdus

EUR 15,99

incl. 19 % VAT excl. shipping costs


weight 0,10 KG

in stock

released 27.04.2012


ROME

CD
Nos Chants Perdus


Product.Nr. TRI_447_CD


0.0 of 5 stars

product description

CD Rome "Nos Chants Perdus"

Over a series of remarkable concept albums, the Luxembourgish band Rome have developed a totally unique 'poetry of longing' which rings out from the dark melancholic mist of rootlessness and which gives expression to a comprehensive feeling of modern forlornness. The protagonists of their music are the unintentional 'rebels' of Camus (The Rebel; original: L'Homme révolté), contemporaries from the turbulent epochs of the 20th century: the banished and the hunted; the despised and the misunderstood - always enemies of dictatorship. This is what the songs of Jerome Reuter are about, firmly in the tradition of his declared heroes Jacques Brel and Léo Ferré, (on earlier albums also Tom Waits and Nick Cave). As regards content, Rome are inspired by world literature and the observant listener will be able to detect references to and quotations from Albert Camus, Marcel Proust, Jean-Paul Sartre and Jean Genet. This serves to create a new kind of intertextuality between word and sound.

Following on from their EP 'L'Assassin' (2010) Rome assiduously develop their sound further on the minimalistic, simple singer-songwriter album 'Nos Chants Perdus', slowly leaving the apocalyptic realms behind them. Catchy melodies, which breathe the timeless atmosphere of the metropolis on the Seine, impress themselves on the memory. The sonorous voice bears the weltschmerz as well as the yearning for freedom and peace. Apart from the French song titles the lyrics are primarily performed in English, while the music is constructed primarily with acoustic instruments: piano, guitar, touches of strings, accordion. They have largely relinquished electronic elements, which marks 'Nos Chants Perdus' out as a further stride in the work of the band.

'Nos Chants Perdus' by Rome is an exceptional and valuable example of the art of singer-songwriting, the likes of which haven't been heard in this concentration and with such gravity for a long time. Re-release in digipak!

  tracklist/more details

0.00000 Review(s)

There are no reviews for this product

back Write a review

tracklist/more details

Tracklist:

1. L'Homme Revolte
2. Les Deracines
3. Le Chatiment Du Traitre
4. L'Assassin
5. Le Vertige Du Vide
6. Les Exigences De La Foi
7. La Commune
8. Sous La Dague
9. Les Isles Noires
10. Un Adieu A La Folie
11. La Rose Et La Hache
12. Chanson De Gestes
Back to Top

CD Rome "Nos Chants Perdus"

ROME

CD
Nos Chants Perdus

EUR 15,99

inkl. 19 % MwSt. zzgl. Versand


Gewicht 0,10 KG

Lieferzeit ca. 1 bis 3 Tage

VÖ 27.04.2012


ROME

CD
Nos Chants Perdus


Artikelnummer TRI_447_CD


0.0 von 5 Sternen


Beschreibung

CD Rome "Nos Chants Perdus"

Über eine Reihe außergewöhnlicher Konzeptalben hat die Luxemburger Band Rome eine ganz eigene Poesie der Sehnsucht entwickelt, die aus den düster-melancholischen Nebeln der Heimatlosigkeit klingt und einem umfassenden Gefühl der modernen Verlorenheit Ausdruck verleiht. Die Protagonisten ihrer Musik sind die unfreiwilligen "Menschen in der Revolte" (Camus), Zeitgenossen wildbewegter Epochen des 20. Jahrhunderts: die Vertriebenen und Gejagten, die Verachteten und Missverstandenen, Feinde der Diktatur allemal. Davon berichten die Lieder von Jerome Reuter, ganz in der Tradition seiner erklärten Vorbilder Jacques Brel und Léo Ferré, aber wie auf früheren Alben bereits auch Tom Waits und Nick Cave. Inhaltlich lässt man sich von der Weltliteratur inspirieren und sät für den aufmerksamen Hörer Verweise und Zitate von Albert Camus, MARCEL Proust, Jean-Paul Sartre und Jean Genet. Das erschafft eine neuartige Intertextualität zwischen Wort und Klang.

Ausgehend von ihrer EP "L'Assassin" (2010) entwickeln Rome auf dem minimalistischen, schlichten Liedermacheralbum "Nos Chants Perdus" ihren Sound beharrlich weiter und lassen die apokalyptischen Sphären langsam hinter sich. Hier dürfen sich eingängige Melodien einprägen, die die zeitlose Atmosphäre der Metropole an der Seine atmen. Die sonore Stimme trägt den Weltschmerz ebenso wie das Sehnen nach Freiheit und Ruhe. Neben den französischen Songtiteln werden die Texte primär in Englisch vorgetragen, während die Musik vor allem auf akustische Instrumente baut: Klavier, Gitarre, Streicherakzente, Akkordeon. Auf elektronische Elemente hat man weitgehend verzichtet, was "Nos Chants Perdus" als einen weiteren Schritt im Werk der Band kennzeichnet.

"Nos Chants Perdus" von Rome ist ein seltenes und kostbares Stück Liedermacherkunst, das man in dieser Konzentration und Ernsthaftigkeit lange nicht gehört hat. Hierbei handeltes sich um eine Wiederveröffentlichung im Digipak.

  Tracklist/mehr Details

0.00000 Bewertung(en)

Zu diesem Artikel existieren noch keine Bewertungen

Zurück Bewertung schreiben

Tracklist/mehr Details

Tracklist:

1. L'Homme Revolte
2. Les Deracines
3. Le Chatiment Du Traitre
4. L'Assassin
5. Le Vertige Du Vide
6. Les Exigences De La Foi
7. La Commune
8. Sous La Dague
9. Les Isles Noires
10. Un Adieu A La Folie
11. La Rose Et La Hache
12. Chanson De Gestes
Back to Top