The Skinflicks

limitierte 12"-Vinyl+CD
Luxembourg's Most Hated - 20-Year-Anniversary Anthology 1997

EUR 19,99

incl. 19 % VAT excl. shipping costs


weight 0,10 KG

in stock

released 24.11.2017


The Skinflicks

limitierte 12"-Vinyl+CD
Luxembourg's Most Hated - 20-Year-Anniversary Anthology 1997


EAN 4260063945809

Product.Nr. TRI_608_LP+CD


0.0 of 5 stars


product description

ltd. 12"-Vinyl+CD The Skinflicks "Luxembourg's Most Hated - 20-Year-Anniversary Anthology 1997-2007"

IN CELEBRATION OF THE SKINFLICK'S TWENTIETH ANNIVERSARY: STRICTLY LIMITED COLLECTOR'S EDITION (VINYL & CD) OF LONG-DELETED AND GREATLY SOUGHT-AFTER LEGENDARY Oi! HYMNS.

  • White 180g 12" vinyl
  • High quality, super-audiophile disc - German pressing!
  • Sturdy cardboard sleeve
  • Reverse board printed cover
  • Printed inner sleeve
  • Inner sleeve made from special untreated paper
  • Printed vinyl labels
  • CD containing all songs of the anthology album
  • Strictly limited to 500 copies

Trisol is very proud to make some of the most visceral street punk hymns of the late 90s and early 2000s available again. It's been 20 years since the formation of THE SKINFLICKS - Luxembourg's most antagonized crew of the last century. So it's time to celebrate! The band appeared out of nowhere and during their brief but hard-hitting presence on the European street punk scene, they delivered many instant sing-along classics and quickly established themselves as the new hope of Oi!-music, the soon-to-be kings of terrace chants... well, for a minute or two, at least.

THE SKINFLICKS were formed on November 28th, 1997, after one long night of drinking at a tragically boring pub in the south of Luxembourg. After several months of frequent changes in line-up, the final version of what to this day remains Luxembourg's only Oi-band came into being: Jerome had moved from drums to the front of the stage, Tom was still getting to grips with the 6-string, Patrick had replaced Muck on bass and Gilbert moved in to be the drummer to end all drummers.

The teenaged SKINFLICKS were the unapologetic and somewhat over-the-top answer to the self-righteous arseholery of the highly politicized latter-day anarcho-hardcore crowd that was still considering itself the bee's knees on the local scene. The spirit of punk was in quite a bad shape in privileged Luxembourg and, internationally speaking, the 90s had reduced punk to being some pseudo-Californian feel-good rock that could potentially sell millions of records. THE SKINFLICKS found themselves in a local rock-scene mellowed down by suicidal Cobain-lookalikes and leather-clad weekend guitar-heroes.

Nonetheless, the tristesse of the once-glorious working-class areas of southern Luxembourg's steel industry proved to be the perfect backdrop to their in-yer-face brand of street punk.
As was to be expected, the band quickly found themselves in rivers of shit at home because of their get-up and devil-may-care attitude. Short-cut hair was still equaled to right-wing politics, as very few people were aware of the history of the Oi-movement. THE SKINFLICKS had always subscribed to a non-sectarian attitude within the scene, being quite outspoken about not supporting any right-wing causes or views, while staying away from far-left politics as well. This proved to be a tricky balancing act, as it was for all Oi-bands at the time. The fan base was made of equal parts of mohawks and shaved heads and what have you - proof that there was an ever-increasing part of the various punk scenes that was fed-up with the self-righteousness of the underground and alienated from the popularized versions of their respective cults and tribes.

The new line-up ended up releasing several records from 1998 to 2003, of which the most important songs have been assembled on this anthology. This collection most notably includes songs from their 2000 EP "Steel-Toe Anthems", which has only ever been available as an extremely limited edition sold and manufactured by the band themselves at their shows that same year. The crew had disbanded before any label could give these songs the adequate packaging and format. Also featured on this anthology are the most notorious songs of the band's two full-length albums "Lies, Damned Lies & Skinhead Stories" and "Beyond Good and Evil". Among these are classics like "What I am", a song that has been covered again and again by various colleagues in the genre over the last two decades and the seminal tongue-in-cheek "I hate Hippies".

After the disbandment of the group, all members went on to perform in other outfits and projects. Patrick for one, is still active with his ska band TOXKÄPP! and also joined Jerome in his dark folk project ROME.

  tracklist/more details

Kunden kauften auch

SAMSAS TRAUM

lim. 12" Vinyl
Heiliges Herz

SOLD OUT!


to article
ROME

Limited Collector's Set: 2x12" Vinyl+CD plus T-Shirt
Hall of Thatch

EUR 69,99 *


  released Freitag, 19.01.2018

   order & paydeadline:  Januar 8, 2018 - 23:59
to article
Michael Cashmore & Shal...

lim. 12"-Vinyl
Michael Cashmore & Shaltmira

EUR 19,99 *


to article

0.00000 Review(s)

There are no reviews for this product

back Write a review

tracklist/more details

Tracklisting CD:

  1. What I am
  2. I hate Hippies
  3. Do or be done
  4. Kings without a crown
  5. No-Slo-Mo Pogo
  6. Media
  7. Smash the Love Parade
  8. Brugge Skins
  9. Terrace Terror
  10. Incarnation of sin
  11. Stick yer disco up yer arse!
  12. Gods and Laws
  13. Hold On
  14. The Pride of our scene
  15. Lionhearts
  16. Skinhead

Tracklisting LP#1 - Seite 1:

  1. What I am
  2. I hate Hippies
  3. Do or be done
  4. Kings without a crown
  5. No-Slo-Mo Pogo
  6. Media
  7. Smash the Love Parade
  8. Brugge Skins

Tracklisting LP#1 - Seite 2:

  1. Terrace Terror
  2. Incarnation of sin
  3. Stick yer disco up yer arse!
  4. Gods and Laws
  5. Hold On
  6. The Pride of our scene
  7. Lionhearts
  8. Skinhead
Back to Top

VÖ Freitag, 24.11.2017

The Skinflicks

limitierte 12"-Vinyl+CD
Luxembourg's Most Hated - 20-Year-Anniversary Anthology 1997

EUR 19,99

inkl. 19 % MwSt. zzgl. Versand


Gewicht 0,10 KG

Lieferzeit in mehr als einem Monat.

VÖ 24.11.2017


The Skinflicks

limitierte 12"-Vinyl+CD
Luxembourg's Most Hated - 20-Year-Anniversary Anthology 1997


EAN 4260063945809

Artikelnummer TRI_608_LP+CD


0.0 von 5 Sternen


Beschreibung

ltd. 12"-Vinyl+CD The Skinflicks "Luxembourg's Most Hated - 20-Year-Anniversary Anthology 1997-2007"

ACHTUNG: Es erfolgt keine Teillieferung!
Eure Bestellung wird erst komplett verschickt, wenn dieser Artikel erschienen ist!

ZUR FEIER DES 20-JÄHRIGEN JUBILÄUMS VON THE SKINFLICKS! STRENG LIMITIERTE SAMMLER-EDITION (VINYL+CD) LANG VERGRIFFENER UND EXTREM GESUCHTER Oi!-GASSENHAUER.

  • Weißes, 180 Gramm schweres 12" Vinyl
  • Extra audiophiler Tonträger von hoher Qualität - deutsche Pressung!
  • Stabile Kastentasche
  • Cover im Inside-Out Druckverfahren bedruckt
  • Mehrfarbig bedruckte Innenhülle
  • Innenhülle aus speziellem, rauen Papier
  • Mehrfarbig bedruckte Vinyletiketten
  • CD mit allen Tracks der Anthologie
  • Streng limitiert auf 500 Exemplare

Trisol verkündet stolz, einige der temperamentvollsten Street-Punk-Hymnen der späten Neunziger und frühen 2000er endlich wieder erhältlich zu machen. 20 Jahre liegt sie zurück, die Gründung von THE SKINFLICKS - Luxemburgs angefeindetste Bande des letzten Jahrhunderts. Wenn das kein Grund zum Feiern ist! Damals tauchte die Band aus dem Nichts auf, lieferte während ihrer kurzen, aber umwälzenden Präsenz in der europäischen Street-Punk-Szene zahllose Mitsing-Klassiker und etablierte sich sehr schnell als die neue Oi!-Hoffnung schlechthin, die kommenden Könige der Stadiongesänge... nun, zumindest für ein oder zwei Minuten.

THE SKINFLICKS wurden am 28. November 1997 nach einer durchzechten Nacht in einem denkwürdig langweiligen Pub irgendwo im Süden Luxemburgs gegründet. Nach mehreren Monaten, in denen sich das Line-Up ständig änderte, erhob sich die definitive Besetzung der bis heute einzigen Luxemburger Oi!-Band: Jerome hatte die Drums verlassen und war zum Frontmann geworden, Tom verzweifelte immer noch an seinem Sechssaiter, Patrick hatte Muck am Bass ersetzt und Gilbert wurde zum ultimativen Drum-Tier.

Die minderjährigen SKINFLICKS (der Name bedeutet im Übrigen soviel wie "Pornofilme") waren die unverfrorene und herrlich übertriebene Antwort auf all das selbstgerechte Arschlochtum der hoch politisierten Anarcho-Hardcore-Crowd, die sich immer noch für den Mittelpunkt der örtlichen Szene hielt. Der gute alte Punk-Spirit war in einem privilegierten Land wie Luxemburg in denkbar schlechter Form, international gesehen hatten die Neunziger den Punk auf ein paar pseudokalifornische Feel-Good-Rocker limitiert, die Millionen Platten verkauften. THE SKINFLICKS fanden sich in einer lokalen Rock-Szene wieder, die von suizidalen Cobain-Doppelgängern und Wochenend-Gitarrenhelden in billigem Leder bevölkert war.

Nichtsdestotrotz erwies sich die Tristesse der einst glorreichen Arbeiterklasse-Gegenden in Südluxemburg als idealer Hintergrund für ihren "Auf die Fresse"-Street-Punk.
Wie erwartet, fand sich die Band aufgrund ihrer rücksichtslosen Attitüde in ihrer Heimat sehr schnell einem massiven Shitstorm ausgeliefert. Kurzgeschorene Haare setzte man noch immer mit rechtem Gedankengut gleich, denn kaum einer kannte die Geschichte der Oi!-Bewegung. Dabei hatten sich THE SKINFLICKS von Anfang an einer konfessionslosen Weltsicht verschrieben, die sich zwar klar von den Inhalten des rechten Flügels distanzierte, sich aber zugleich von der extremen Linken fernhielt. Dass das für sie wie auch für alle anderen Oi!-Bands ein ziemlich schwieriger Balanceakt war, muss nicht erwähnt werden. Ihre Fanbase bestand aus Iros, Glatzen und allem anderen, was beweist, dass immer mehr Angehörige der verschiedenen Punk-Szenen die Schnauze voll hatten von der Selbstgerechtigkeit des Underground und sich von den Mainstream-Fassungen ihrer jeweiligen Kulte und Stämme entfremdet fühlten.


Die neue Besetzung veröffentlichte zwischen 1998 und 2003 gleich mehrere Alben, von denen die besten Tracks auf dieser Anthologie versammelt sind. Hervorzuheben sind in dieser Sammlung die Stücke ihrer 2000-er EP "Steel-Toe Anthems", die nur in einer extrem limitierten Auflage verfügbar gewesen und von der Band selbst auf ihren Shows in diesem Jahr hergestellt worden war. Noch bevor ein Label diesen Songs eine angemessene Veröffentlichung bescheren konnte, hatte sich die Truppe bereits aufgelöst. Ebenfalls auf dieser Anthologie enthalten sind natürlich die berüchtigtsten Stücke ihrer beiden Studioalben "Lies, Damned Lies & Skinhead Stories" und "Beyond Good And Evil" - darunter Klassiker wie "What I Am", das in den letzten 20 Jahren von gefühlt jeder artverwandten Band gecovert wurde, und die berüchtigte Spass-Nummer "I Hate Hippies".

Nach der Auflösung machten alle Mitglieder in anderen Bands und Projekten weiter. So ist Patrick noch mit seiner Ska-Band TOXKÄPP! aktiv und ist auch in dem von Jerome geführten Dark-Folk-Projekt ROME tätig.

  Tracklist/mehr Details

0.00000 Bewertung(en)

Zu diesem Artikel existieren noch keine Bewertungen

Zurück Bewertung schreiben

Tracklist/mehr Details

Tracklisting CD:

  1. What I am
  2. I hate Hippies
  3. Do or be done
  4. Kings without a crown
  5. No-Slo-Mo Pogo
  6. Media
  7. Smash the Love Parade
  8. Brugge Skins
  9. Terrace Terror
  10. Incarnation of sin
  11. Stick yer disco up yer arse!
  12. Gods and Laws
  13. Hold On
  14. The Pride of our scene
  15. Lionhearts
  16. Skinhead

Tracklisting LP#1 - Seite 1:

  1. What I am
  2. I hate Hippies
  3. Do or be done
  4. Kings without a crown
  5. No-Slo-Mo Pogo
  6. Media
  7. Smash the Love Parade
  8. Brugge Skins

Tracklisting LP#1 - Seite 2:

  1. Terrace Terror
  2. Incarnation of sin
  3. Stick yer disco up yer arse!
  4. Gods and Laws
  5. Hold On
  6. The Pride of our scene
  7. Lionhearts
  8. Skinhead
Back to Top